Javed Jabbar Officially Notified as Non-statutory member of NFC from Balochistan


QUETTA: President of Pakistan Dr. Arif Alvi has reconstituted the 10th National Finance Commission (NFC), with effect from April 23, 2020, to work out consensus over Federal Divisible Pool among the provinces.

The president authorized Advisor to Prime Minister on Finance and Revenue Dr. Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, in the absence of Federal Minister for Finance, to chair the meetings of the commission, which was constituted under Article 160(1) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, according to a notification issued by the NFC Secretariat, Finance Division, here on Tuesday.

The 10-member commission comprises federal finance secretary as the official expert, four provincial finance ministers, and four technical members of the provinces, including Tariq Bajwa, Dr. Asad Sayeed, Musharraf Rasool Cyan, and Javed Jabbar.

Mr. Javed Jabbar has been appointed as member for Government of Balochistan, replacing former technical member Mehfooz Ali Khan a former Finance Secretary of Balochistan.

Independent economists have criticized the decision by the provincial government to nominate a person who has no roots in Balochistan. Mr. Javed Jabbar is an intellectual, writer and a former federal minister but he doesn’t have any know-how of the political and economic needs of Balochistan. Appointing him as technical member endangers what had been achieved under 7th NFC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s